State of affairs

It is a rather sad state of affairs if I don’t even wish to inform my mother of my very first paid commission – even if it’s a friend. Now I’m not saying this is the beginning of a string of assignments – one can only hope – but it is a start. A teeny tiny one, but one has to start somewhere.

I do know why I’m rather reluctant in telling her. A constant badgering of her discontentment about the current state of my life can make a person not feel inclined to share, not even the good.

I’m realistic enough to know any career in the creative field is one of great uncertainty, especially this particular path I seem to have chosen. And I know she’d rather see me slaving away in an office, stuck behind a desk and computer, earning a very steady healthy income. While I do see myself accepting a part time job for the financial gains in the short term, I can’t see myself going back to work in an office full time. Work, create a very healthy financial buffer, and then find a way to dedicate time and effort to the things that are close to my heart. Except I already know the outcome of this, as I’d hardly have any energy left and the things I love would have to take a back seat, leading only to it being postponed indefinitely. Perhaps until I retire…and by then I will have regretted it more than where I am right now.

Sigh.

I just wish she’d realise she’s not doing any of us any favours.

2 thoughts on “State of affairs

  1. Some parents have a hard time realizing they can’t relate to their offspring as adults in the same way they did when they were children …

Say what?